DOK LEIPZIG 30 OCTOBER – 5 NOVEMBER 2017
60TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

The Project


The Project




CATALOGUE TEXT
Brilliant yellow protection suits with oxygen masks cautiously explore a withered orange plantation. Architectural elements float like loose space ship parts through the white void of a 3D visualisation. The camera investigates the ruined interior of an extensive building complex, the fading beauty of a glowing promise for the future, cast in concrete. In Cuba.

What looks like science fiction is actually the legacy of a utopia. The five-storied, elongated complex in the midst of orange plantations was once built as an agricultural school for 50,000 students. Attracted by the visionary project, people from other regions of the island republic settled here. Today they live like ghosts in the long corridors of a place that is lethargically floating between the past and the future because of the effects of the Citrus tristeza virus. The static shots of this film, however, don’t record decay but a quiet change. Alejandro Alonso Estrella and his team have created an aesthetically impressive haptic cinema of the smells and buzzing of the rooms – a gentle approach to an actual building, its inhabitants and the ideas behind it. Faced with this drawing board communism the film doubts its own visual recollections. The invisible censor is full of suspicion – and has other reasons, too.

André Eckardt

/

/
Credits
Original Title: El proyecto
Country: Cuba
Year: 2017
Language: Spanish
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 60 min.
Technique: 3D Digital, Found Footage
Format: DCP
Color: Colour and B&W
Director: Alejandro Alonso Estrella
Producer: Yamila M. Montero
Cinematographer: Alejandro Alonso Estrella
Editor: Emmanuel Peña
Animation: Andy F. Pérez
Sound: Jesús Bermúdez
Music: Rafael Ramírez
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 30. OKTOBER – 5. NOVEMBER 2017
60. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR- UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

The Project


The Project




KATALOGTEXT
Vorsichtig erkunden leuchtend gelbe Schutzanzüge mit Atemmaske eine verdorrte Orangenplantage. Wie lose Raumschiffteile schweben Architekturelemente durch das weiße Nichts einer 3D-Visualisierung. Die Kamera erkundet das ruinöse Innenleben eines ausgedehnten Gebäudekörpers, die verblassende Schönheit eines in Beton gegossenen, glühenden Zukunftsversprechens. In Kuba.

Was sich wie Science-Fiction darbietet, erzählt eigentlich vom Erbe einer Utopie. Der fünfstöckige, langgezogene Komplex inmitten einer Orangenkulturlandschaft wurde einst als Agrarschule für 50.000 Schüler und Studenten gebaut. Vom visionären Projekt angezogen, siedelten Menschen aus anderen Regionen der Inselrepublik hierher. Sie bewohnen nun geisterhaft die langen Gänge eines Ortes, der durch die Auswirkungen des Citrus-tristeza-Virus lethargisch zwischen Vergangenheit und Zukunft schwebt. Die statischen Einstellungen des Films halten jedoch nicht den Verfall, sondern eine stille Verwandlung fest. Alejandro Alonso Estrella und sein Team schaffen ein ästhetisch eindrucksvolles Kino des Tastsinns, des Geruchs und des Summens der Räume – eine behutsame Annäherung an das tatsächliche Gebäude, dessen Bewohner und die Ideen dahinter. Den Reißbrett-Kommunismus erfahrbar vor den Augen, zweifelt der Film an seinen eigenen Erinnerungsbildern. Misstrauen, aber aus anderen Gründen, hegt auch der unsichtbare Zensor.

André Eckardt

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: El proyecto
Land: Kuba
Jahr: 2017
Sprache: spanisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 60 min.
Technik: 3D Digital, Found Footage
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour and B&W
Regie: Alejandro Alonso Estrella
Produktion: Yamila M. Montero
Kamera: Alejandro Alonso Estrella
Schnitt: Emmanuel Peña
Animation: Andy F. Pérez
Ton: Jesús Bermúdez
Musik: Rafael Ramírez
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.